Week 5 – Mantra

Technology has great potential to bring people together, but it can also be used to avoid direct contact.  I often find myself using technology to avoid interaction.  I find I prefer communicating via email rather than voice.  Much of the work I do know is via the internet.  Part of the reason I chose the distributed learning model was to work independently and not have the social burdens that come with traditional ground schools.  I find myself using digital citizenship to become an analog hermit.  This is not the best way to use technology.  So I have a chosen a mantra that reminds me not use technology to avoid the world.

Mantra:

I will not use technology to avoid the rest of the world.  I will use technology to embrace it.

And here it is in Haiku:

I will not use my
technology to avoid.
I embrace the world

Leave a Reply

